European Museum of the Year Award Emya 2023

10 January 2024
Award Emya

Next year’s European Museum of the Year Award (Emya 2023) will be presented to 33 nominees, including the Thackray Museum of Medicine.

After undergoing a £4m redevelopment, the Leeds museum reopened in May 2021 with 11 new galleries illustrating the evolution of healthcare.

Only one UK institution is on the award Emya 2023 longlist this year. Berlin, Germany’s Documentation Center for Displacement, Expulsion and Reconciliation and Turkey’s Police Museum also received nods.

With seven institutions nominated, including the Museum of Verzasca Valley and the Cantonal Fine Arts Museum, Switzerland received the most nominations this year.  

Emya Competitions Since 1977

Emya competitions have been held annually since 1977. New museums or established museums that have undergone significant redevelopment are recognized as candidates for the awards.

Five other prizes are also awarded at the competition in addition to the European Museum of the Year Award: the Council of Europe Museum Prize; the Kenneth Hudson Award for Institutional Courage. There are four prizes in this category: Professional Integrity, the Silletto Prize for Community Participation, the Portimo Museum Prize for Welcoming and Inclusion, and the Meyvaert Museum Prize for Environmental Sustainability.

The Workers Museum in Copenhagen, Denmark has already been selected as the recipient of the 2023 Council of Europe Museum Prize.

Award Emya 2023, which takes place in Barcelona from 3 to 6 May 2023, will reveal the other prize winners on the final day of the conference.

A previous winner is Museum of the Mind in the Netherlands (2022), and a recent winner is Stapferhaus in Switzerland (2020). The event will be organized by the European Museum Forum and hosted by Museu Historia de Barcelona next year.

In 2018, London’s Design Museum was the last UK winner.One more interested topicMikhail Baryshnikov Award London

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Don't Miss

Huddersfield Giants Fixtures

The Huddersfield Giants Fixtures Released

Early reveal Huddersfield giants fixtures absence in round one. St
amazon uk

About Amazon UK Recent Updates 2023

Amazon Marketplace Investigation April 2023 There is an investigation underway