Voice of London
News Sports

Ronnie O’Sullivan Defending 2023 World Snooker Championship

2023 World Snooker Championship

Taking place from 15 April to 1 May 2023 at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield, England, the 2023 World Snooker Championship will be the 47th World Snooker Championship held there in its history. The tournament is officially called the 2023 Cazoo World Snooker Championship.

As the final ranking tournament of the snooker season 2022–23, it is organized by the World Snooker Tour. As well as sponsoring all three Triple Crown events during the season, Cazoo will also be involved in five other professional tournaments.

A deal to broadcast the Triple Crown events until 2027 has been extended by the BBC for the UK.

Ronnie O’Sullivan won in 2022

At the 2022 event, Ronnie O’Sullivan won his seventh world title, defeating Judd Trump in the final 18–13.

WORLD Snooker Championship Qualification Best of 19

Beginning in 2023, all qualifying rounds of the Cazoo World Championship will be played over 19 frames.

The first three rounds will be played over the best of 11 frames instead of best of 15 frames as in recent seasons.

From next season’s qualifying event, scheduled for April 2023, WST has decided to change to best of 19 frames after feedback from the WPBSA and players.

We will announce the qualifying event dates soon.

Several prize money increases have also been announced for the upcoming season of 2022/23.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *